Books I Should’ve DNFed + Pros & Cons of DNFing

     So, the Top Ten Tuesday theme this week is books you struggled with, let me tell you I have a LOT of those. So, I decided I would compile a list of books I SHOULD have DNFed but suffered through anyways waiting for the moment when it magically gets good (spoiler alert, there wasn’t one). Also, because I was already writing this, I figured I’d add a pros and cons list to the end of DNFing, this is mainly because I’m indecisive as heck (if you’ve ever watched Gilmore Girls than you will be able to compare MANY things between Rory and I) so I decided a pro con list would help speed up my decision making. Just know that if I do end up not finishing a book I will feel REALLY bad about it and trust me, you will know. Anyways, let’s get to what you came for shall we? (yes I can acknowledge it’s not my constant rambling or beautifully designed cover photos) Without further ado, here is the top 5 books I should’ve DNFed, but instead chose to struggle through. (Also, I’m not planning on any explanations, like 2 sentences tops, however I will link back to reviews if one exists) ⇐ That was written before I started, oh boy was I wrong😂

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Ok, don’t attack me, but I genuinely hated this book. It was more like a poorly written fanfiction than an official Harry Potter screenplay, and I’d like to remind everybody that it was not written by J.K. Rowling, so it could possibly qualify as fanfiction. (I have indeed read much better fanfiction for $20 less) {Bonus quote from Kenzi to her mum about TCC – “The only cursed child is me because I had to read this book! It’s not even a book it’s badly written FANFICTION!”}

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I know what you’re thinking “Makenzie this was required reading for English you HAD NO CHOICE!” But you are, in fact, wrong. For I know multiple people who didn’t finish the book and you know what THEY WERE SMART! I suffered. I dreaded reading. I threw a pen AT A WALL! I wrote, and I quote, ORGANIC ACIDS! as an annotation because I needed more annotation and DIDN’T CARE ANYMORE! This book ruined me and I want to unread it. The only good thing that spawned from this evil was the running joke in my friend group where we decided which character we were, that’s it. The only good. I hated this.

Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor E. Frankl

Once again, a required reading, this time one for summer break. “But Makenzie you’re a goody two shoes who breaks no rules.” EXACTLY! Why else would I torture myself by putting myself into a 2 week long book slump? Anyways, the book was boring, like completely, utterly, cry yourself to sleep instead of reading boring. I think it would be more fun to remove my eyeballs so I could never read again than it would be to reread this book. It was very insightful and I’m sure many people have grown from it, and love it, but I’m not one of them. And guess what, they don’t run this blog. So until then, I will continue to rant about this book anytime it is mentioned. Be that a fair warning to all of you.

King Arthur and his Knights of the Round Table by Roger Lancelyn Green

I know, I know. Another summer  reading book. But seriously, it took me 2 or 3 weeks to read this 300 page book. And the whole book was based on religion, which I know nothing about. Overall, the book and I just REALLY didn’t get along, and if I never read it again it’ll be too soon. Honestly, why can’t I just be like all other high schoolers and use SparkNotes? It would make my life SO MUCH EASIER!

Image result for fahrenheit 451Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

This is a different circumstance, not exactly required reading, but not exactly by my will. My mom had been nagging me to read this for years, so when we had a banned book project for English, I figured I’d kill two birds with one stone. Needless to say, I hated the book and rated it 1 star, although I didn’t ever write a review for it. Now, that was only the first time I read it. The second time I read it, it was required and I dreaded it more because I knew how much I hated the book, and yet I had no choice. Once again, I was bored the whole time, and I should’ve DNFed it and gone based on my memory. But I reread it and I’ll never get that time I wasted back.

 

Pros & Cons of DNFing

Pros:

  • You don’t waste anymore time on it
  • You can move on
  • You won’t resent the book
  • It’ll prevent a reading slump from forming
  • If you keep reading, it won’t be fun

Cons:

  • You might miss the good part
  • You might feel guilty

That’s about it, honestly if you need to not finish THEN DON’T FINISH! THERE IS NO SHAME IN NOT FINISHING! Don’t be ashamed if you need to stop, not every book is compatible with a person.

25 thoughts on “Books I Should’ve DNFed + Pros & Cons of DNFing

Add yours

  1. oh I LOVE how you did the prompt!! I feel so so guilty for DNF’ing and I hate that because like we don’t have to like every book we read!? And we’re wasting sooo many hours by forcing through books we hate. But UGH I still always finish everything.😭😂 I recently read a book called Gork, The Teenage Dragon and honestly wanted a brain wipe after. It was so crude and dumb. 🙈🙊 I also have no intention of reading Cursed Child after all the reviews of how bad people have said it is!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊 also I do the same thing, it’s just ingrained in my mind that I have to finish it, but I DON’T! Also, I personally hated the Cursed Child because it just didn’t sound like JK Rowling and it wasn’t even written by her and the whole plot just didn’t follow any of the rules we learn about the wizarding world in the books so it just frustrated me

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

