Hogwarts Tag

I was tagged by Danielle @ The Introverted Book Nerd to do the Hogwarts Tag! Who can pass up a good Harry Potter challenge? (That’s a rhetorical question, everyone knows the answer is nobody.) I tag Chey @ The Bookshire Huntress and anyone else who decides to do it, so have fun!

Q1: Are you a pure-blood, half-blood or muggle born?

So, I’m gonna say half-blood, because of my parents, my mom loves Harry Potter and reading in general, while my dad hates both of those things.

Q2: Which wand chose me? (descriptions stolen from Pottermore)

Wood: Pine – The straight-grained pine wand always chooses an independent, individual master who may be perceived as a loner, intriguing and perhaps mysterious. Pine wands enjoy being used creatively, and unlike some others, will adapt unprotestingly to new methods and spells. Many wandmakers insist that pine wands are able to detect, and perform best for owners who are destined for long lives, and I can confirm this in as much as I have never personally known the master of a pine wand to die young. The pine wand is one of those that is most sensitive to non-verbal magic.

wand-yellow-quite_short-ball_handle

Core: Unicorn Hair – Unicorn hair generally produces the most consistent magic, and is least subject to fluctuations and blockages. Wands with unicorn cores are generally the most difficult to turn to the Dark Arts. They are the most faithful of all wands, and usually remain strongly attached to their first owner, irrespective of whether he or she was an accomplished witch or wizard. Minor disadvantages of unicorn hair are that they do not make the most powerful wands (although the wand wood may compensate) and that they are prone to melancholy if seriously mishandled, meaning that the hair may ‘die’ and need replacing.

Length: 10 ¾” – That’s like boot length so I could channel my inner Alex Russo by hiding my wand in my boot

Flexibility: Hard

 

Q3: Did you take an owl, cat, toad or rat with you?

I’d take an owl because I like that my pet can also allow me to keep in contact. Also, I just don’t want cat hair all over my stuff, it would drive me CRAZY!

 

Q4: Where did the sorting hat put you?

This question is a little difficult to answer. So from age 9-13, I was a Ravenclaw every time I took the test, it never changed. However, seeing as I lose my Pottermore info quite frequently, I take the test a lot. The most recent test showed a change in my Hogwarts house, and now I’m a Slytherin (which isn’t hard to believe). So, choose what you will, I’ve decided to embrace my Slytherin placement, but think of myself as a Slytherclaw. (For more about my existential crisis, you can see me post about the house change here)

b20a3-slytherin

Q5: What house did you want to be placed in?

I wanted to be placed in Ravenclaw because I thought it was where I belonged based on house stereotypes. I have since learned that house stereotypes are WRONG! I may be a nerd, but that doesn’t mean all Ravenclaws are!

 

Q6: What lessons are your favourite and least favourite?

Favorite: Transfiguration or Potions because you get to take something and change it into something COMPLETELY DIFFERENT! How cool is that? (In case you were wondering I kind of wanna be a pharmaceutical engineer in real life because playing with chemicals AND helping people, is there any better profession?)

Least Favorite: History of Magic, I have very little attention span, so I probably couldn’t focus. This is of course based on the theory that Binns is still teacher.

 

Q7: What is your patronus?

My patronus is a falcon, I don’t really know anything about birds, so I’ll leave it at that.

pottermore-patronus-quiz-jk-rowling-faf

Q8: What does your boggart look like?

My boggart would probably be like Hermione’s, failing a class, but it’s not just failing at school I’m afraid of. As you might now, I’m a complete overachiever and a perfectionist, but I also have anxiety (self-diagnosed but still). So, I’m always worried I’m not gonna do well enough, which spreads to just about everything.

 

Q9: Do you partake in any magical hobbies or school sports?

Dueling, I would love to duel. It would be awesome. I tend to be very aggressive but I have no actual strength, so dueling would be a great way to fight without getting physical. (If anyone was wondering, I had to repeat a cheer in my head to remember how to spell aggressive. Don’t judge, we all have our flaws.)

 

Q10: Where would you spend your spare time?

Either in the library or sitting around the lake. But I’d only be out by the lake in fall and spring, I don’t like being cold, I ain’t about that life.

 

Q11: What would you most likely get detention for?

It’s very unlikely that I’d get detention, as I’m a perfect goody two shoes, but if I did probably for doing other people’s homework for money, gotta make a living somehow. (Funny story, I almost got detention last year but I had a panic attack and almost puked so I got out of it. {The assistant principal caught me on my phone during lunch, I said I was told we could have them out during lunch [I was explicitly told by a teacher we couldn’t]})

 

Q12: What career do you want after graduating Hogwarts?

Probably a potioneer, because you get to help people but you don’t have to deal with bodily fluids.

22 thoughts on “Hogwarts Tag

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

