Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand

Cyrano de Bergerac
by Edmond Rostand
  • Classic, Drama
  • 12+ for violence
  • Published 1898 (first performed 1897)


Summary

41j4rkq54jl-_sx323_bo1204203200_     “Poet and soldier, brawler and charmer, Cyrano de Bergerac is desperately in love with Roxane, the most beautiful woman in Paris. But there is one very large problem – he has a nose of stupendous size and believes she will never see past it to return his feelings. So when he discovers that the handsome but tongue-tied Christian is also pining for Roxane, generous Cyrano offers to help by writing exquisite declarations of love for the young man to woo her with. Will she ever recognize who she is really falling in love with? Set during the reign of Louis XIII, Rostand’s Cyrano de Bergerac (1897) was one of the great theatrical successes of its time and remains as popular today for its dramatic power and, above all, for its good-natured, passionate and swashbuckling hero.” – Amazon

Review

This was my final summer reading book, so understandably I just wanted to get it over with. However, that plan turned out to be a bust when I got caught up attempting to pronounce everything right. This lead to a lot of frustration on my part, which resulted in me skipping any names that looked difficult, in an attempt to maintain a slight bit of my sanity. As the story continued, I found myself enjoying the story, and I was eager to

9781593083878_p0_v1_s550x406

read it. Although there were a couple parts I had trouble understanding, I soon discovered that reading it out loud helps a lot, especially when a character is reading a poem, which there are quite a few instances of. The writing was also easy to read, but didn’t sound like it was written for five year olds, a nice in between that is much rarer than it should be. Honestly, the only reason I took away a star is for the incest in the novel. However, as 19th century literature I wasn’t too surprised to discover the love Cyrano felt for his cousin, although I’m still disgusted. In the end, Cyrano de Bergerac reminded me of a cross between Romeo and Juliet and Wuthering Heights, although I’m not entirely sure why.

Recommendation

I recommend lovers of classics, plays, and unrequited romance read Cyrano de Bergerac because it takes all three of those categories and wraps them up into one story. Somehow I enjoyed the story, even though I typically dislike all three of the things I mentioned before, but it tells them in an interesting way. If you do in fact choose to read the play, please keep in mind mot only the time period it’s set in, but also the one it was written in. With this in mind you should be able to look over a lot of the things that would probably be frowned upon, or even downright illegal in today’s time period. However, in the time period, these things were considered normal, even if it might be difficult to grasp today. Overall, Cyrano de Bergerac is a wonderful storyh and I think that anybody who can appreciate old literature will enjoy it.

About The Author

f244b8729b4212dc64687cf760e9d41f-rostand

“Edmond Rostand’s best-known work, Cyrano de Bergerac was first performed in Paris in 1897, starring the famous actor Constant Coquelin. The play was a success in France and beyond. Rostand wrote many other plays, and was one of the last great Romantic dramatists of the period. His other lasting work is L’Aiglon, which provided a triumphant role for actress Sarah Bernhardt.” – Biography.com

Purchase The Book

5 thoughts on “Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand

Add yours

  1. I still have to read this book. It was never a required reading for me so I didn’t read it in school. However, I wanted to read some classics this year and I have to admit having my difficulties with it ^^ And I would read Cyrano de Bergerac in French as it is my father tongue but I hate reading in French unless it is written by one of my favourite French authors. So I don’t know whether I’d pick this one up or not 😂
    Great Review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Honestly, I feel like it would be better in French because the translation kinda messes with words (also the poems don’t sound right at all, probably from indirect translations) It was a good book, and I can’t wait to watch the movie adaption Roxanne, which is also part of my summer reading but it looks good. I can understand the struggle with classics, I’m definitely not someone who typically reads classics, so I have a lot of trouble when I do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

